Types of Nigerian e-Visas: A Comprehensive Overview


Nigeria, with its rich culture, diverse landscapes, and growing economic opportunities, is an increasingly popular destination for travelers from around the world. To facilitate the process of entering the country, Nigeria has implemented a range of electronic visas, or e-Visas, which offer convenience and efficiency for tourists, business travelers, and other visitors. In this comprehensive blog post, we’ll explore the various types of Nigerian e-Visas, their purposes, and the application process, ensuring that travelers have the information they need to choose the right visa for their journey.

1. Tourist e-Visa

The Tourist e-Visa is designed for individuals who plan to visit Nigeria for leisure, tourism, or social purposes. This type of visa allows travelers to explore Nigeria’s vibrant culture, natural beauty, and historical sites. The Tourist e-Visa typically permits a single entry into Nigeria for a short period, which is usually 30 days.

2. Business e-Visa

The Business e-Visa is for foreign nationals traveling to Nigeria for business-related activities. It enables travelers to attend meetings, conferences, negotiations, and other commercial endeavors. The Business e-Visa often allows for multiple entries during its validity period.

3. Transit e-Visa

Transit e-Visas are suitable for travelers who need to pass through Nigeria en route to another destination. This type of visa is intended for short layovers or stopovers. It permits travelers to stay in Nigeria for up to 7 days before continuing their journey.

4. Tourist Group e-Visa

The Tourist Group e-Visa is an option for travelers who plan to visit Nigeria in a group. It is particularly useful for tour operators, travel agencies, and organizations arranging group tours. The group must consist of at least two travelers.

5. Government-to-Government (G2G) e-Visa

The Government-to-Government e-Visa is intended for travelers who are representing their government or official delegation. It is used for diplomatic and official visits and requires an invitation from a Nigerian government agency.

6. Diplomatic e-Visa

Diplomatic e-Visas are issued to diplomats, government officials, or representatives of international organizations who are visiting Nigeria for diplomatic purposes. This type of visa is reserved for individuals with diplomatic status.

7. Courtesy e-Visa

The Courtesy e-Visa is for non-Nigerian government officials, individuals, or organizations who are visiting Nigeria for non-diplomatic activities but hold a courtesy invitation from a Nigerian government agency.

8. Ecowas Travel Certificate

Nigeria is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), and citizens of ECOWAS member countries can travel to Nigeria with an ECOWAS Travel Certificate, which serves as a visa-free entry document for certain activities.

The Application Process

The application process for Nigerian e-Visas generally follows these steps:

  1. Visit the official Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS) website and select the appropriate visa type.
  2. Complete the online application form, providing personal information and travel details.
  3. Upload the required documents, which may include a valid passport, a recent passport-sized photograph, and a letter of invitation for certain visa types.
  4. Pay the visa fee using the provided online payment platform.
  5. Receive a confirmation email with an application ID and instructions for biometric data collection and an interview, if required.
  6. Attend the biometric data collection and interview, as specified in the confirmation email.
  7. Await the approval of your e-Visa, which will be sent to your email address.
  8. Print the e-Visa and carry it with you during your travel to Nigeria. Present it to immigration authorities upon arrival.


Nigerian e-Visas offer a convenient and efficient way to enter the country for various purposes, from tourism and business to diplomatic activities and transits. Understanding the different types of e-Visas and their application processes is essential for travelers planning their visit to Nigeria. By choosing the right e-Visa type and following the proper application procedures, travelers can ensure a smooth and hassle-free journey to this captivating West African nation. Whether it’s exploring the country’s cultural treasures, engaging in business endeavors, or connecting with the local community, Nigerian e-Visas provide the gateway to a memorable experience in Nigeria.